Top Online Sportsbooks

Bonus :
£30 Free Bet

Bonus :
25€ Free Bet

Chicago and Philadelphia set for Stanley Cup

Posted on May 27th, 2010

The Chicago Blackhawks and Philadelphia Flyers are set to begin the 2010 Stanley Cup Finals. After disposing of the San Jose Sharks and Montreal Canadiens in the Conference Finals, both teams come in with plenty of momentum. The winner take all series will get started on Saturday May 29that 8:00pm EST.

The Blackhawks have won 12 of 16 postseason, after going six games in the first two series’, then sweeping the top seeded San Jose Sharks. Philadelphia won the initial series over the second seeded New Jersey Devils in five games. In the conference semifinals, the Flyers trailed 3-0, and then won the final four games to move to the conference finals. Philadelphia won four out of five to move to 12-5 in the playoffs.

Chicago has been led by Jonathan Toews and his 26 points scored. That leads all of the NHL, followed by Flyers top scorer Mike Richards, with 21. Patrick Kane, also of Chicago, has 20 points scored in the postseason. Danny Briere of the Flyers is second in the postseason with nine goals, trailing Montreal’s Mike Cammalleri.

Between the pipes for both teams; Antti Neimi, who averaged just 2.25 goals per game in the regular season. The Flyers Michael Leighton led the regular season with a save percentage of .918. In the postseason, Leighton has allowed just 1.45 goals per game, and Neimi is at 2.33.

Following game one in Chicago, they will also host game two. The Blackhawks and Flyers will honor veterans with a Veterans’ Day tilt at 8:00pm EST on May 31st. The series shifts to Philadelphia for game three on Wednesday June 2nd. Game four will also be in Philadelphia; on Friday June 4th. Game five, if needed, will take place in Chicago on Sunday June 6th. Game six would be played in Philadelphia – on Wednesday June 9th and an always exciting game seven will be in Chicago on Friday June 11th.